Month 5

See how I grow!!

Week 20: Halfway there! It’s fun to feel baby’s kicking (baby’s very active now!) but I sure can’t wait to see him/her. Sunday night, Paul felt baby kick again for the second time. So fun!

Week 21: Plenty of movement continuing on, though it’s still very gentle and not enough to wake me up. I’m thankful I don’t have many of the other symptoms that are common this month: no swollen ankles, no nighttime bathroom visits. I think the latter is because the baby sits very high… feels more like my rib cage is being stretched than that my bladder is being pushed on!

Week 22: Happy Thanksgiving! I surprisingly didn’t gain any weight after the Turkey (well, chicken) dinner, but I did weigh myself later in the week and found out I’ve gained FOUR POUNDS in the last two weeks! Baby’s growth seems to be like this… slow for a week or two, then a sudden increase at the same time as I feel hungry all the time. I guess that’s the definition of a growth spurt!! 🙂

Week 23: Happy Advent! We set up our nativity scene this week which brings back sentimental memories of years of Christmases growing up. And these thoughts trigger excitement about what the future will bring with establishing traditions for our own family! Reread Noël Piper’s book (which is free online) and remembered:

“We won’t hide the things that our fathers have told us from the children,
but will tell the coming generation about the glorious deeds of the LORD,
and his might, and the wonders he has done.
He established a testimony in Jacob and appointed a law in Israel,
which he commanded our fathers to teach to their children,
that the next generation might know them, the children yet unborn,
and arise and tell them to their children,
so that they will put their hope in God
and not forget the works of God, but keep his commandments.”
(from Psalm 78)

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, pregnancy

Leave a Reply

