Clothes: Less is More

2 weeks + orange shirt

Guess what I did today!? I got dressed out of my CLOSET!! It’s the first time since before Tigger’s birth that my clothes didn’t come straight from the suitcase!

Umm, yes, that means it’s taken me over 2 weeks to unpack. Just yesterday did we manage to finish unpacking, and now my clothes are in my closet!

The first thing I realized when unpacking was that I didn’t have enough hangers for everything. At one point in my life, that would have meant going out to buy new hangers. These days, as I pursue contentment in what I own, I find ways to pass along excess, and to make use of ‘waste’.

How?

I separated my clothes into several stacks: winter, maternity, worn out, don’t like, and keep. I only put articles of clothing in the “keep” pile that I have enough hangers for. Winter and maternity clothes will be put in one of the air-seal bags we use for traveling (the kind that don’t need a vacuum), worn out clothes went to the scrap pile for me to craft into something new, and don’t like (which actually was mostly never did and never will fit) went in a bag to take to the next clothing drive I hear about (Oh, I do miss America’s thrift stores!).

There’s one rug project in Handmade Home I’m gathering cotton tee scraps for, but otherwise I don’t have any plans. I have an orange shirt I loved (see photo of me wearing it when 2 weeks pregnant… yes, I took a picture that early “just in case”!!), but it’s got some un-patchable holes so I think it’s time to rework in into something else. Any ideas? It’s a thin but sturdy, somewhat stiff cotton, nothing like t-shirt material.

5 Comments

Filed under Home, organize/simplify

5 responses to “Clothes: Less is More

  1. I agree! I am all about making use of what I have. I hope you visit my way. 🙂

  2. I made some cute tee shirt scarves out of scrap old tees a few months ago- turned out super cute and totally easy! I found some ideas on how to make them online, and good examples on ETSY. I think I found them under “scrap scarf” or something like that. Enjoy your new closet!

    • Sounds like a great quick-Christmas-gift idea! Though with t-shirts, they might be light enough to wear in autumn too, perhaps? Thanks for the tip!

  3. Can I just say that I am in AWE! I know you feel wobbly and unsettled – in more ways than landing on your feet upon new ground and new technology – but WOW! I am so impressed but there is no “applause” button on my keyboard.

    Greetings! I’m visiting from the Blog Frog Mom Loop Community Comment Follow. I’m happy to have arrived on your edge of the world. I think I’ll mosey around for awhile.

Leave a Reply

