Happy Birthday…

… to me!

care-package-from-suzy

Care packages are always so exciting and encouraging for us, but we’ve never gotten one so soon after arriving back in China before! It was a great reminder that the folks back home aren’t going to forget us. And a fun present to come in the mail just two days before my birthday!

I opened it at lunch and read through the 1970’s cookbook while I ate, picking out recipes to try soon. I’m excited about the other vintage books too – I love used books and so it’s fun to get some in the mail! And we’re of course also thrilled about all the other books & magazines (I really love to read!), the beauty products (yes, the deodorant will be very useful for this stinky Mama!!), and all the foods… if you can’t tell, we’d already starting eating some of the snacks, and just put the packages back in the picture 😀 Equally great are the photos and card, letter, and drawing. It’s SO nice to be connected with family!

Oh, and the booties for Tigger? I’ll post about those soon 🙂 Just a hint: she LOVES them!!

Thanks, Aunt Suzy and family!

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Life

2 responses to “Happy Birthday…

  1. favorite aunt Suzy

    So glad you like it! Beverly helped pick out the old books from the stash in Nanny’s basement and I thought the deodorant was fitting after your stinky mama post! I can’t wait to hear about Tigger and the booties. By the way, she was Hope when she was in the U.S. Did leaving the country change her name?!!

    • Hehe! Her nickname is Tigger because she was born in the Chinese year of the Tiger. When I was pregnant with her, all the stores were selling decorations for New Year’s, and many of them used Tigger from Winnie-the-Pooh as the cartoon drawing. We both love Winnie-the-Pooh so it became her nickname. I thought we could use Tigger as her online name, and then for future kids, give them a nickname based on the Chinese year they were born in, too.

      Funny related note: I was born in the year of the Ox/Cow, so some people here call me “Cowgirl”!

Leave a Reply

