Milk Cake

by LoriAnn

“What’s this doing out on the counter?” Baba asks.

“Oh no! I must have left it out this morning!” Mama replies (and it is now 9pm). No use crying over spoilt milk, so my brain starts turning… and then my fingers are turning the pages in our family cookbook to this favorite recipe! Hope you enjoy it as much as we have been all week!

Milk Cake

Servings: 8

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cup sugar (all white or 1.5 c. white .25 c. brown)
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cup flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup soured milk
  • 2 Tbsp. margarine

Directions:

1. Beat eggs, sugar, and vanilla together in smaller bowl.
2. In large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt.
3. Fold dry ingredients into first bowl.
4. Microwave milk with margarine til margarine melted. Add slowly to batter, stirring gently.
5. Pour into greased & floured cake pan 9″ round cake pan.
6. Bake 30 minutes.
7. Optionally sprinkle top with powdered sugar.
Add this recipe to YOUR cookbook or mealplan at SpringPad!

4 Comments

Filed under cooking, Home

4 responses to “Milk Cake

  1. From the mom loop–
    As I browsed through your website, I found some very healthy food choices. I’m working on that in my eating and had buckwheat for the first time (that I know of) yesterday, when I made buckwheat rolls. It was just the flour and it was pretty strong tasting to me, but I want to be healthy!!!

    • Great! I have to admit, I’ve only had buckwheat rolls, buckwheat pancakes, and buckwheat breads… with plenty of sugar added 🙂 Not so healthy anymore. I’ll be experimenting too though!

  2. This is a way yummier version of the “when life gives you lemons…” What kind of density did the cake turn out? Is it like a traditional cake, or too crumbly for frosting?

    • Agreed! I’ve made it several times now and it’s like typical white cake, fluffy not dense. I’ve never frosted it but think it’d do fine! Let me know if you try it.

Leave a comment