not Sorry, just Full

by Lori Ann

happy baby, shattered lens filter

This year has been especially full. I don’t want to say “busy,” which conveys hurrying from activity to activity. It hasn’t been that way at all; simply, full. Each day, each moment, mattering: maturing into the mother, wife, and neighbor I believe God has called me to be. Knowing I’m far from having “arrived.” But thoroughly enjoying the journey.

I also don’t want to apologize for writing so infrequently. I’ve noticed so many bloggers who write about parenting and family write a “I’m so sorry” post after neglecting their blog for awhile, even though they were taking care of the needs of that family! (I’ve done this myself) I know the intention is to be kind to readers, but it comes across to me as prioritizing the blog about family over the family itself… and I don’t want to be like that. I do want to check in, say hello, and promise I’m still pursuing God and mothering. To the fullest!

Where are your journeys taking you this year?

10 Comments

Filed under Family, Life

10 responses to “not Sorry, just Full

  1. My first comment! ā¤

    I love the concept of a full life versus a busy life. Mine is a bit of both. LOL

  2. Hi! this is my first time here! Can’t wait to follow a long šŸ™‚

  3. Full…..that is the perfect description of my life right now. Busy has never seemed to fit. I’m looking forward to reading your future posts!

  4. I love the way you distinguished between busy and full!

  5. Thanks everyone! We’re doing our best to relax and enjoy one another this weekend, another way I see “full” as different than busy!

  6. It’s nice to meet you here at your blog. šŸ™‚

  7. I loved your post. Totally agree that “full” is a much better description! Love your analysis of priorities. One of my gripes with the internet world we live in is life becomes a commentary on itself, and very soon, not real at all. Just, kind of, written about, before it is even lived…

    • I feel the same way about the internet and how it’s impacting life these days. Where I live (rural China) most people only have it on their cells, and it’s only used to instant-message real-life friends. I LOVE how the internet allows us to make new friends BUT when our time is all spent writing about life, and not living it… there’s definitely a problem there!

  8. Kathleen

    Full is good…you’re creating memories! : ) I
    have always admired the idea of working on character traits with growing children, and recently I realized that they’re not just for kids! So I am working on developing Perseverance…or rather, asking God to develop it in me. If you know of any good bible stories/characters who exhibit this trait, let me know.

    • The first person that I thought of was the widow in the beginning of Luke 18!

      I’ve had your same revelation about working on character traits being for everyone; I was looking ahead into homeschooling stuff when I was at home feeling all sick pregnant, and I really liked the writings of Charlotte Mason, who encourages including “habit training.” It was character traits like what you’re talking about, perseverance, fruits of the spirit, etc. But I realized I won’t be able to instill any of those in my kids if I don’t first develop them myself! So right now I’m going through a great book with Tigger that I should probably write about soon; it has 24 family “ways” each with a connected character trait, verse, and stories. Really she doesn’t pay any attention yet šŸ™‚ but I know I need it!

      Oh, and I pick one habit to match each one that’s relevant right now, so this week’s theme is loving God’s words and I’m working on reading something every morning with her.

Leave a Reply

