Dirt

by Lori Ann

Messy Face

“God made dirt and dirt don’t hurt” — this playground chant was popular when we ate outside on nice spring days, especially if an especially tasty treat fell to the ground. 10+ years later and the chant comes back to mind frequently these days as I realize how futile (and scientifically speaking, harmful) it is to keep Tigger away from every bit of good-old-fashioned dirt.

Unfortunately, the local Grandmas don’t agree, and “dirty” will probably be Tigger’s first word in Chinese.

Messy

My FIL and I were talking several months ago and he mentioned that as a kid, he and his friends really ate mud pies! Tigger was playing on our village friend’s farm recently and tried to scoop up a mouthful of soil including a piece of goat poop… thankfully I was right there and she didn’t get any, but I had to laugh when my American friend mentioned that kids in the U.S. aren’t going to grow up with those kinds of experiences! Do you have any good dirt stories?

(don’t read this or any MamaWit post as medical advice, blah blah blah, disclaimer type stuff, and please don’t feed your child any soil from the industrialized chemicalized factory farm down the street… thanks)

5 Comments

Filed under baby, China, Family, Life

5 responses to “Dirt

  1. Sadly, I’m afraid my little Monkey isn’t going to be a fan of dirt. 😦 He tries to avoid getting very messy at this point. Maybe something will change as he gets a little older…

  2. By the end of last summer, I was entirely fed up with people having the audacity to go to remove things (sticks, leaves, grass, etc) FROM MY CHILD’S MOUTH. I don’t think so! All summer, it was “oh, your baby has grass in his mouth!” and “oh no, he’s chewing on a stick!” and “oops, better take that out of his mouth!” For crying out loud. I’m just glad he’s past that stage this summer.

  3. J loves to play in dirt, too. The Moldovans I don’t think worry so much about him being dirty, but they can’t stand him sitting on the ground because they think it will make him sick!

  4. I know plenty of babies who play in the dirt and are perfectly fine. The only thing I might worry about would be potential choking hazards. But as far as playing in dirt? I say let ’em at it.

  5. I am always surprised at the amount of parents we meet at the park who carry around ten-ton barrels of hand sanitizer and whip out the wipes the second their child (or someone else’s!) touch a tree, the ground, a toy! I get shocked glances and offers of chemical-filled cleaning products when I call my kids over for a picnic — on the ground! If their hands are excessively filthy, I’ll rinse them off with water, but I’d much rather them swallow some good old fashioned dirt while eating lunch than alcohol and who knows what else!

Leave a Reply

