Sick Day

by Lori Ann

Morning Scene

I woke up this morning to a banging on the door. It was 8:12 am. I’d slept in nearly 2 hours past usual, but it didn’t feel like enough. I tried to calculate whether we’d been up more than 2 hours over night, but I wasn’t sure.

“Mama? Mama?” I heard at the door. I smiled, and rolled across the bed so I’d only need to take a few steps to open the door. There stood Tigger, grinning up at me. “Mama! Mama!”

“Shh, Mama’s sleeping… oh….” Baba said as he caught up with our quick new walker. “It’s okay, I’m up now,” I reassured, taking Tigger up in my arms and thankful Baba took her this morning so I’d have some time to sleep in (even though I found out later they’d only been up about 10 minutes).

Today passed about the same as the last two: sipping probiotic yogurt, washing tons of poopy laundry, cleaning leaked poop off the (thankfully tile) floors, and engaging with Baba in lively discussion inspired by The God Journey podcasts (free on itunes!) we’ve been listening to to pass the time. Just like yesterday, but unlike usual, Tigger just wanted to sit on her bed and reach out her hand for every stuffed animal she owns when she woke from her morning nap. I just finished eating the same modified chicken noodle soup I’ve had the last 4 meals: I made it for Baba but since I don’t actually like chicken noodle soup I’ve been straining out the broth and eating it with soy sauce and Chinese seasonings. Under my feet is a giant mess of the baked potato we let Tigger eat in the living room yesterday when neither of us felt like sitting up at the dining room table for a meal. On the kitchen counter is the largest stack of dirty dishes I’ve allowed to gather in months. But in my heart is an intense feeling of gratitude that this is a “bad day” for us, and yet we still have food to eat, a washer to help deal with the mess, and one another to help out… but I admit there’s also a morsel of self-pity in there at no longer getting sick days “off” from my daily life.

Do you ever get a sick day? If so, what do you do? How do you cope if you don’t?

4 Comments

Filed under Family, Life, toddler

4 responses to “Sick Day

  1. Kathleen

    Oh no! Sorry to hear you all are not feeling well! We’ll be praying for healing for your family. The last time when I was really sick as a kid, I watched a marathon of Elvis movies on tv…and then I got really sick of Elvis, and got better quick so I could get back to life without him! : ) Try it sometime.

  2. I don’t really get sick days… If I’m lucky, my mom will watch Isaiah for a short time to give me a break. If I’m really sick, that’s usually when I allow Isaiah to watch some Donut Man videos and read a lot of books. At least it allows me to relax a little. I also don’t bother cleaning up his toys until I feel better.

Leave a Reply

